“And now the sequence of events in no particular order. “

– Dan Rather, news anchor


WOW! The contestants for the International Speech Contest at the district conference on May 20 were impressive. The talent was perfected, the competition was stiff and the crowd was excited. Winners were Ian Humphrey (1st place), Gigi DeGala (2nd place) and Sherman Wiseman (3rd place.) Rarely does one see such closely matched skills.

Ian Humphrey first competed at the International level in 2009


The 81st Annual Toastmasters International Convention will be held in Orlando, FL on August 15-18, 2012.

The International Convention features a keynote presentation, skill-building seminars and speech contest semifinals which culminate in the World Championship of Public Speaking. Other highlights include the International Board of Directors elections, gala dinner affairs and a host of networking opportunities. Will YOU be there to support Ian? Start planning now.

Elaine Love, DTM

D26 congratulates Elaine Love, DTM and Metro Division Governor 2011-2012, who has achieved the status of Professional member of the National Speakers Association.

Thanks toToastmasters training, my speaking has progressed from total beginner to professional status in the National Speakers Association in three years. Toastmasters speaking and leadership training propelled me to two Distinguished Toastmaster awards in 42 months as well as an expanding trophy collection. The essence of effective communication is connection at its best.




It is with sadness that we report the passing of Virginia Glist, a fellow toastmaster since 2005. Ms. Glist was a respected member of  Toast-a-Matics where she earned ACG (advanced communicator gold). In 2011 she won the International Speech contest at the club level and went on to represent Toast-a-Matics at the area competition. Ms. Glist was the author of two books, a WWII veteran who served as a laboratory technician, and an educator of English, drama, and speech. A resident of the Fitzsimmons Home for Veterans in Aurora, she outlived her only child and passed away on Wednesday, April 4, 2012 at the age of 90. Virginia Glist inspired us all with her personal growth and development through a committment to lifelong learning. “The world lost a little color when you left it.” -Devra Keyes

"Julia Davis"

Julia K.Davis, DTM, says Thank You to the district members.
Read her letter of heartfelt  appreciation.



Congratulations to Alex Pyle, Toastmaster of the Year and Betty Chavira, District Officer of the Year 2010-2011!

Read the full list of recognitions in the Hall of Fame 2010-2011


D26 Members

Join the Bureau

Current Toastmasters members may join the Speakers' Bureau to get more opportunities to speak outside of their clubs.